¡pWrite…Challenged!

I’m very glad that I decided to do some research on John Coltrane…He’s an awesome saxophonist! I did a wikipedia search on him and there is a good amount of information…but what I learned that is most important to me is a true understanding of what his music means to my BFF. I mean I enjoy it actually came to realize that he is in a few of my favorite jazz pieces. However, I don’t vibe him the way she does and now I understand why…Coltrane’s music to her is like Gospel music is to me…I dont’ think I ever truly grasped that even though it was always very apparent. However, I think that I mistook one thing or another and was never able to make the dots connect. I digress…

I learned how he became St. John Coltrane and how man notes he played per minute…way crazy [in a great way]…

I re-learned that Coltrane is part of A Sentimental Mood (Duke Ellington & John Coltrane)- which I fell in love with back when The Cosby Show was on the air…then I later fell in love with Giant Steps and now I’ve discovered The Last Blues…I love love these three songs very much and they emote different feelings.

I never knew that Coltrane was a sailor nor that his on followed in his musical foot steps. I also didn’t realize he passed so young; he was only 40 years old when he accented.

God Bless

Ms. Peaches…

3 thoughts on “¡pWrite…Challenged!

  1. Marlee-I Mystic says:

    YAY! I’m glad you did some research and it gave you a deeper understanding of my connection. Coltrane is an example to all of us, he turned his life around and begin to give all praise to God.

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      I don’t know why it’s never clicked before…but now it’s clicked…I think that’s the major difference in our music roots…you have a very instrumental and song background where all my music background started with Gospel music…it’s my everything when I need a direct line to God…so I get it for you now on those terms with John Coltrane’s praise to God through his saxophone.

Leave a Reply

