Darkness (Jingle’s Thursday Poetry Rally Week 36)

Perfect Poet Award! nomination goes to http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com

Laying in complete darkness
Lacking shadows and movement
Stillness surrounds as
Tears fall from my eyes
From being surprised

Laying in darkened day
Lacking light to see the way
But seeing brightness shining
Illuminating the way

Laying in the darkness not
Knowing but hoping day to
Come, your smile I found
Your comfort I sought
Your hope I grabbed hold of

Just praying the tears of sadness
Never to return but for
Tears of joy to create
Rivers and streams
From puddles found
In darkness from nights
When days were never
Thought to come

46 thoughts on “Darkness (Jingle’s Thursday Poetry Rally Week 36)

  1. Tom Baker says:

    Another great poem Ms. Peaches. I’m just stopping by to tell you Poetic License will be posted tomorrow with your poem in it. I decided to also post on big post on January 3rd with the past 4 months of Poetic License. I hope you stop by to see that too! Thanks again for letting me feature your poetry.

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      Thank you so much Tom!!! I am flattered and I’ll def be stopping by thanks for visiting and leaving supportive comments!

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      it’s actually a realization of what the past had me missing out on…so it’s quite happy in some regard…thanks so much for your comments! you’re the best! cheers and happy new year!

  2. Jingle says:

    light on you while darkness is around,
    lovely piece…
    Thanks for attending poets rally…

    let me know your nomination for week 37 perfect poet award.
    happy 2011.
    Cheers!
    ;)…

  3. brokenpenwriter says:

    Sadness reflects the size of the well that once was filled with love. Nothing stays the same for long. One day, when sadness leaves the well, the walls will be larger, stronger and more able to love again.
    I read your poem today, on the 2nd anniversary of my brother’s death. It helped to bring old tears to the surface, where they belong. Now they’re in the light, they can start the job of healing the unmended wounds. Thank you so much for touching the dark with your words, and leaving room for light to return.

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      I really love your take on my piece. God works in mysterious ways! I pray your healing is peaceful and thank you so much for you absolutely lovely comment! I appreciate it so much your words are more than kind they touched my spirit!

  4. megzone says:

    Happy new year friend!
    lovely poem dear.. the pain etched clean…
    keep them coming.. and m sorry for not being around a lot.. but this year i promise to be more regular ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      Happy new year meg! apologies so not necessary I haven’t been so consistent with the year coming to a close but my goal for the new year is to be a better blogger than last year.

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      Rashmi – yes tears definitely do come when we are touched and I was deeply touched when the tears fell. Thanks for your comment! I appreciate your time.

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      A.B thanks! I definitely thought I was creating an image when I chose those words. Happy new year friend! thanks for your time you’re very much appreciated!

  5. Linda says:

    Beautifully written.
    I love the words:
    “Laying in complete darkness
    Lacking shadows and movement
    Stillness surrounds as”

    Well done.

    • Ms. Peaches says:

      Victoria your words are always more than kind and make me smile and feel appreciated as an artist trying to better my craft! thank you so much for your kindness and compassion! Blessing to you as well!

  6. Olivia says:

    Hoping all’s well Peach Dear.. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I know this feeling.. I have lived this life in span of months many a times. The last time it had turned me into recluse.. My writing re- invented me..

    It is heart breaking to know that people undergo such strong emotional phases.. Just be strong and pray!!

    I wish you loads of happiness and joys for this Year and every year thereafter..
    Wishing you a beautiful 2011

    Love n Hugs
    xoxoxoxox

  7. aynsley7 says:

    This was a really lovely poem. It poked at emotions in me that I didn’t know that I had! I’m so glad that you can find the beauty in life’s hardships. Thank you for making beauty!
    ~~Aynsley

Leave a Reply

